My credentials

I had a dream last night where I was entering comments and replies to an informational piece I had written. One of the comments was asking to see my credentials. The author of the comment wanted to know what my background and formal training was that qualified me to present the information in the article.

I contemplated this, as I had contemplated it in my waking life before. So now I will take the time to present my credentials. So let me address the person that insisted on needing that sort of substantiation:

Me.

 

Dear Me,

You had asked me to provide some credentials, some evidence that I am qualified to speak on the specific matters of which I have been writing about, that offer insight and help to those who might need it. My assumption is that you ask because you want to make certain I have acquired the prerequisite knowledge to speak on such matters with any sense of authority or position.

Perhaps it might assuage your concerns if I were to present you with certifications and diplomas, with letters and dots in the caboose of my name. Perhaps you would be delighted to know what educational institutes I have attended, what academic experts or spiritual advisors I have studied under, what great distant lands I have traveled in search of truth and enlightenment. Perhaps it might please you to see me demonstrate channeled knowledge from ascended masters, information from deceased loved ones or enlightened spirits. Or perhaps I can send you a photo of myself framed in my stacks of earned millions, real estate deeds, stock holdings and ample dividend statements.

I understand that once you see the evidence of my credentials, you can then accept all I convey in my words as valid.

I will now present you the evidence that I am appropriately accredited to speak on the matters of which I often speak:

I am blessed beyond my wildest dreams. I have a fantastic family life, of which I could ask no more than what I have. My wife and I make a comfortable income that meets our needs and desires, from a position of a standard middle class income earning bracket. The only debt we could be said to carry is the mortgage on our house. A house that offers a fantastic view of the water in a peaceful neighborhood, the type of house and neighborhood that we both dreamed of living in someday, and that day is today. We travel frequently enough to satisfy our curiosity of other places in the country or the world. We eat good healthy meals consistently. We have in our lives friends and family that we see often and share our love with.

We are blessed. We have peace in our lives. By no means are our lives free of challenges, nor would we ask them to be. We do not spend our time wishing for a life other than what we currently have. It seems to me this is what most people strive for, a life that contains within it peace, love, and joy.

I have been able to create this life for myself without a college degree, without accreditations, without exceptional abilities or volumes of wealth.  I am the poster child of the majority of us, someone who is able to achieve all this in my life without the preconceived expectations of what is required to do so. These are my credentials.

 

Signed,

A person no different than you

 

Published by

Podcaster

David brings over 25 years experience developing his talent and skills in voice work which includes acting, directing and producing live theater and improvisation, staged and recorded play readings, a nationally syndicated radio show, and producing and hosting several podcasts. Over two decades of experience in acting and script reading has gained him proficiency in a wide range of genres including non-fiction in historical, inspirational/motivational, instructional and biographical as well as fiction in science fiction, comedy and drama, romance, suspense, thriller, satire, and farce.

Comments welcome